New Ghost Stories
New Ghost Stories Podcast
Weeds | New Ghost Stories Podcast 29
0:00
-37:02

Weeds | New Ghost Stories Podcast 29

You can listen and download the New Ghost Stories Podcast from a number of platforms. And if you enjoy this paranormal podcast, please take a moment to leave a review. It really helps the show.

I recently found myself re-listening to the first ever episode of this podcast. I’d forgotten what a terrifying episode it is. And I don’t just mean the story – I mean the recording quality. I may not be the greatest audio engineer (I’m still learning) but I don’t remember the audio sounding quite so processed. It was my first attempt after all; I suppose I should be happier that it wasn’t worse than it was.

It was my plan to remaster the episode, as a lot of new listeners have been discovering the podcast recently. Instead, I ended up re-recording the story in full. Hopefully this new version will prevent anyone from being put off by the lo-fi sound. Though purists will, I’m sure, be relieved to hear that the original recording still exists on this Substack.

It was just a coincidence that I was working on this episode at the same time as I was putting together the intro for episode 29. At the beginning of this episode, you can hear me muse upon the subject of storytelling, as both a useful tool for understanding the world, but also a problematic one.

I had forgotten how much of the first episode is spent with the subject and her friend Craig trying to understand the phenomena in his home by using story tropes. The subject is critical of her friend for dealing with the situation this way. But she also acknowledges that she has no better way of understanding what’s going on.

I think this is one of the huge challenges facing anybody who researches the supernatural. That you’re ultimately operating with a toolkit that may be fundamentally inadequate. If something already sits outside our understanding of the laws of physics, it may be something that is beyond our understanding entirely.

Weeds is another one of those cases from the weirder corners of the archive. There are features in this case that seem to point towards some kind of agency, a guiding influence. But a cohesive hypothesis remains elusive. Whatever pieces of the puzzle may appear to be there, we may simply lack the knowledge and experience to truly comprehend them.

If you’d like to support this UK horror podcast, please consider becoming a patron at Patreon.com/newghoststories

Discussion about this podcast

New Ghost Stories
New Ghost Stories Podcast
Hear witness accounts of the supernatural. Author David Paul Nixon has spent almost a decade travelling Great Britain and collecting lost ghost stories that have never been told before. Are these stories of madness, lies, or self-deception? Or could they be the real thing? The only way to find out, is to listen.